activities. It includes the assets of the former Grand Trunk Railway Co. of Canada and its subsidiaries, and of the Canadian Northern System, as well as certain Crown-owned properties which Canadian National manages and operates.

Primary statutes governing its organization and operation are the Canadian National Railways Act (RSC 1970, c.C-10) and the Railway Act (RSC 1970, c.R-2). Direction and control of the company and its undertaking are vested in a board of directors; its principal officers are the chairman of the board and the president, who is the chief executive officer.

Canadian Patents and Development Ltd. is a Crown corporation established in 1947 to assess, patent and license the industrial and intellectual property arising out of research conducted in the laboratories of the federal government, provincial institutes and universities.

The government, through the Public Servants Act in 1954, made CPDL the prime agency for exploiting public servants' inventions which by that act belong to the Crown. CPDL also exploits industrial and intellectual property resulting in the private sector from certain government-financed research and development. Revenue received from CPDL commercial activities is used to defray CPDL operating expenses.

The board of directors consists of individuals from industry, universities, provincial institutes and the federal government. The head office is in Ottawa. CPDL reports to Parliament through the minister of regional industrial expansion.

Canadian Penitentiary Service (Correctional Service Canada). This service (formerly the Canadian Penitentiary Service and the National Parole Service) operates under the Penitentiary Act (RSC 1970, c.P-6 and amendments thereto and SC 1976-77, c.53) and the National Parole Act and is under the jurisdiction of the solicitor general of Canada. It is responsible for all federal penitentiaries, for the care and training of persons committed to these institutions and for the supervision and assistance given to inmates released from those institutions under various types of release such as temporary absences, mandatory supervision and parole. The commissioner of corrections, under the direction of the solicitor general, has control and management of the service and all matters connected with it.

Canadian Pension Commission. This commission, established in 1933 by amendments to the Pension Act (RSC 1970, c.P-7), replaced the Board of Pension Commissioners, the first organization created to deal solely with war pensions for service in Canada's armed forces. The commission's main function is administration of the Pension Act under which it adjudicates on all claims for pensions in respect of disability or death arising out of service in Canada's armed forces; and parts of the Civilian War Pensions and Allowances Act, which provide for payment of pensions in respect of death or disability arising out of civilian service directly related to the prosecution of World War II. It also adjudicates on claims for compensation as a result of having been a prisoner of war and for pension in respect of disability or death arising out of RCMP service and under various other measures. It authorizes and pays monetary grants accompanying certain gallantry awards

bestowed on members of the armed forces and administers various trust funds established by private individuals for the benefit of veterans and their dependents. The commission consists of eight to 14 commissioners and up to 10 ad hoc commissioners appointed by the Governor-in-Council. Its chairman has the rank of a deputy minister and it reports to Parliament through the minister of veterans affairs.

Canadian Permanent Committee on Geographical Names (Geographical Names). This committee deals with all questions of geographical nomenclature affecting Canada and advises on research and investigation into the origin and use of geographical names. Its membership includes representatives of federal mapping agencies and other federal offices concerned with nomenclature and a representative appointed by each province. The committee's functions were redefined in 1969 (order-in-council PC 1969-1458). The order-in-council recognizes that the provinces have exclusive jurisdiction to make decisions on names in lands under their jurisdiction. The committee is administered by the energy, mines and resources department.

Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission. This commission, established as the Canadian Radio-Television Commission under the provisions of the Broadcasting Act (RSC 1970, c.B-11), regulates and supervises all aspects of the Canadian broadcasting system. The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Act, promulgated in April 1976, amended the Broadcasting Act to assign regulatory responsibility to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) over federally regulated telecommunications carriers.

CRTC regulates and supervises a single Canadian broadcasting system, mainly through the process of licensing broadcasting undertakings and administering a body of regulation and policy statements to implement the policies set out in the Broadcasting Act.

One of the commission's methods of satisfying concerns set out in the Railway Act is to hold public hearings in connection with applications for general rate revisions submitted by the telecommunications carriers under its jurisdiction.

The CRTC consists of an executive committee of up to nine full-time members composed of a chairman, two vice-chairmen and six other full-time members. The full commission includes the executive committee and up to 10 part-time members chosen regionally. All are appointed by the Governor-in-Council. The commission reports to Parliament through the minister of communications.

Canadian Saltfish Corp. Established under the Saltfish Act (SC 1969-70, c.32) and operative since May 1970, this corporation's main purpose is to improve the earnings of lishermen and other primary producers of salt-cured fish, through production or purchase, processing and marketing of salt cod from participating provinces.

The head office is at St. John's, Nfld. The board of directors is composed of a chairman, a president who is chief executive officer, one director for each participating province and not more than five other directors, all appointed by the Governor-in-Council. It is assisted by an